New York  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
9/08/06, 4:23 pm

Legal Question


Do I still get 3%?

I signed a contract for an album where the language refers to us as a band, but all 5 of us signed it. We published and copyrighted it in our 5 names as well. I know that i will get songwriting royalties through ASCAP, but the label promised us 15% of copies each pressing or 15% of net profit from them (however that is figured)

I have left the band. In future pressings, do I still get 15% of the pressings or profit? Also, can this change is the contract is bought by a larger label? The label in question is closing and a major label is looking to buy the rights from the old label. How can ensure that if I am entitled to something under the original contract that I get it from the new label?

The band is from NY, the label is in NJ, but the contract was signed in NY, if that makes any difference.

btw, I have a .pdf copy of the contract if you would like to see it


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search