New York  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
4/01/09, 7:43 pm

Legal Question


right to exhibit

I have a problem regarding a short

film I wrote & directed in NY- that

was based off an event in the life of

the exec producer/primary financier.

First the EP claimed he was co-writer

which in fact is false, he should share

story by credit at best. I refused to

give in so he held back payment to

the crew. I wanted to do right by the

crew so I told him I would agree if he

paid them. Then he said that I don't

have the right to showcase the film

because he owns it - mind you I was

never paid for my services for writing

or directing and actually shelled out a

few hundred dollars of my own for

which i have receipts. Finally I offered

to pay for post production and he

agreed I could show the work in

limited capacity, but said even if he

sold the film or the story (its a bigger

tv series idea), I can't recoup my

investment. At best he's offering me

30% of his profits after he recoups.

He's made physical threats upon my

life if I don't sign to ourproducer and

sent out a letter slandering me with

false accusations which I can refute

with email proof. I'm just want to

walk away, but I still want to be able

to exhibit the short if I finish it

myself. Do I have that right?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search