New York | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
Model Release Required for Book on Musicians?
I am a working professional photographer specializing in musicians. A record distribution company is interested in producing a book of my celebrity photographs from the past 20 years of my archives. All of these photos were done either on assignment for magazines or on my own. None of them were ''Work For Hire.'' I have always been told that model releases are NOT required for editorial useage, which includes books. This firm's lawyer insists that I obtain model release from the approxiamtely 100 bands and invividuals who would appear in this book. This is not really possible. I am aware that 'celebritites' have the right to control their merchandising: posters, ads, endorsements, and such related material. But I have never heard of a book publisher being required to obtain model releases and I am not aware of any publisher being sued for putting out any similar book. Can anyone provide me with case law or citations that would prove my point? Their lawyer just sent me 15 pages of something that he claims prooves everyone ''needs'' model releases.


