New York  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/15/07, 10:03 pm

Legal Question


joint custody, move out of state

I have a joint custody agreement

with my ex-husband (2 kids, ages 4

& 8), with me having primary

residential custody. I also have veto

power over all Major decisions, if we

cannot agree. Our visitation and

custody agreement was agreed upon

and finalized based upon our

residency on Long Island. He has

sinced moved 2 times, once to NYC

and now to Pennsylvania, over 100

miles away. I know I need

permission to move out of state with

the children. Does he need

permission to move himself, if it

changes visitation? Does he have a

right to significantly alter the

visitation agreement without the

court's consent. He plans on

traveling with my two kids

everyother weekend to PA. I'm

believe this would be a hardship for

them, especially during the school

year. My lawyer suggests I wait and

see. Not happy.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search