New York | Civil Litigation
1/03/02, 9:57 am
Legal Question
Civil Litagstion
How do I go about representing myself in a civil law suit from my former employer ?
Civil Litagstion
How do I go about representing myself in a civil law suit from my former employer ?
|
Read More Answered By: Bunji Fromartz |
Re: Civil Litagstion I assume you are being sued in Civil or District Court, as opposed to Supreme Court. If that is so you just need to go to the clerk at civil court and put in your answer. At that time if you feel the employer owes you money you can counterclaim (put in your demands).
Note whether you were served correctly.
Also go to a law library, available in most Supreme Courts, and make discovery demands: Demands for Bill of Particulars, Request for Oral Examination of Plaintiff and Document and Information Discovery Requests.
It is still a good idea to get an attorney or at least consult with one. Look at the amount you can lose and I am sure you will see it is worth it to hire soneone! |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert R. Groezinger |
Re: Civil Litigation I assume that you have been served with papers. There is a limited time in which to answer. Depending on the nature of the suit, legal representation might be your best best. Nonetheless, and Court of Law School might have a legal library inwhich to find form books. Many of these forms must be tailored to meet specific needs.
Good Luck
RRG |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7771
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1827
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1214
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-21
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
► Where should I file my small claims case? I need to file a small claims case against...
► What can I do? I was recently illegally towed from my apartment complex parking lot....
► Defamation and slander How do I handle defamation and slander over the internet. My...
► Judges Powers and Jury Empanelment What evidence is necessary for a judge in N.Y....
► Sued for returned property my ex boyfriend is suing me for a camcorder he states is...
► How Do I Claim Lawsuit Money Owed I was a minor in New York, had an accident in a...
► Requirements for an Answer What documents (other than the answer itself) do I need...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press