New York  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/24/07, 9:50 am

Legal Question


Co-Signed Student Loan

My mother co-signed a student loan for me when I was 16 or 17 years old.

4 years later, the loan has now gone into default and my mother is making the payments to avoid damage to her credit.

I received a letter from my mothers attorney saying they will seek damages in the amount of money she is forced to pay the student loan company.

My question is: Since, at the signing of the contract I had not attained the age of majority, can she succeed in seeking repayment.

This contract was signed in NY and my mother still lives there, however I now live in Washington, DC.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search