New York  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
9/23/03, 4:23 pm

Legal Question


Traffic Accident Compensation

My daughter (age 17) was involved in a accident in a parking lot. She backed out and hit the bumper of the car next to hers.

The gentleman that she hit reported the accident to the police but the damage was so small that the policeman did not file an accident report providing the parties involved agreed to settle the matter. We have offered to pay for the damage to the other vehicle. There is no damage to ours. We asked that the gentleman get 3 quotes from local body shops and then we would pay for the body work that needed to be done to his vehicle.

This week we received a letter from him asking for $400 to cover the damage, plus reimbursing him for his time for getting these estimates and the the 2 days he will be without his vehicle. He is giving us 30 days to pay him this $400 otherwise he will file a claim in small claims court. We requested copies of the estimate and it is under $200. We have no issue reimbursing him for the damage but do we have to reimburse him for his time? Should we just go to small claims court?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search