Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

Over three weeks ago, a small kitten was wandering around my neighborhood as if it was lost and meowing at everybody's front doors on a day when the temperature was below freezing. I decided to take the cat inside. I asked several of my neighbors if anyone was looking for a cat, took it to the vet to see if it had a microchip or anyone was looking for it, posted on Craig's List daily and posted on the local newspaper's website. After two weeks, I decided that no one was looking for the cat and I would keep it. So, I took it to the vet for shots & an exam, which cost $211. Now, someone has put up posters for the missing cat (three weeks after I found it). Legally, am I obligated to return the cat to its owner? If so, who is responsible for paying the $211 vet bill?

Asked on 4/22/13, 4:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

1. i would.

2. They are.

Read more
4/22/13, 5:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now