New York | Immigration Law
11/30/10, 7:03 pm
Legal Question
I was convicted with misdemeanor in 2009. Can it be a problem with my future naturalization - citizenship?
I was convicted with misdemeanor in 2009. Can it be a problem with my future naturalization - citizenship?
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
Yes, it can. You shall consult a good immigration lawyer before applying for naturalization.
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered a legal advice; it doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship. If you want to schedule a legal consultation, I would be happy to help and advise you. You can email me at Attorney@law-visa-usa.com or complete an Info Form with a consultation request at https://lawvisausa.powweb.com/info_form.html . For more information visit http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html |
|
Read More Answered By: Janet Greathouse |
The fact that your conviction is a misdemeanor is not the key. What you need to look at is the specific law under which you were convicted. Generally, if your conviction is for a crime that involves "moral turpitude," then regardless of whether it is a misdemeanor or a felony, you will likely have issues. Before applying for naturalization, you should consult an immigration lawyer. |
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1827
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
► My nanny is Tibetan and about to get her green card. She wants to get her brother in...
► Hi, I have marriage based conditional green card which expires in 2 years. Should my...
► Thanks in advance for reading: I am a 22 year old green card holder. While...
► I have two felony conviction prior to 1996, i would like to renew my greencard...
► Hello, I am a minor currently residing in the united states. I was brought here when...
► My single daughter came to visit and now she is sick and needs my help, I am a...
► If i marry my American Girlfriend, how soon can I work in the US?
More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press