New York  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
12/22/06, 9:49 am

Legal Question


hospital sued me

Hospital sued me for non-payment for a claim 6 years ago, even though I had insurance. I did not know that the bill was never paid. Ins. Co. denied claim (for the last 6 years); I provided proof of insurance to hospital's attorney and Insurance Co. I handled the situation without a lawyer. Judge made me file a third party complaint to the insurance company. I did, and the case was resolved. It took a year and a half and much time to handle. It cost me filing fees and time off from work ($1500) for which I didn't get reimbursed. If I had hired an attorney, would it have made any difference?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search