New York  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
9/25/07, 1:50 am

Legal Question


N.Y. State Car Insurance Laws

Do the courts have a legal right to collect from some one else's car insurance in the same house hold even if that person had nothing to do with the accident. My situation is as follows. I was in an accident over five years ago there was a pedestrian involved. At the time of the accident I was living with my parents the car I was driving belonged to my son who didn't live with me at the time, and the car was registered to my ex-wife. After five year's the courts are saying they can attach my fathers car insurance (who by way is decease as of January 07) because I lived there at the time of the accident is this possible and is there any recourse to protect my mother who is elderly from any damages being placed on her home which is her only asset. How far can the courts take this situation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search