New York  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/17/05, 10:49 pm

Legal Question


Patent Infringment

A U.S. Patent does not affect the production of a product in another country , but can it affect the sale of a product to America? Is there such a thing as an International patent and if there is does it apply countries that are not members of the United Nations ? I like the concept of patents, how they protect people from having their inventions purposely copied, but I feel that they can be unfair, as noone should have the right to claim and hog the use of a certain peice of knowledge in production because any concept is universal and free to be thought of by any one who can, regardless of when they were born or where they reside. There are simple mixtures of metals that can not be included within a product without licenceing by patent holders in America. I think I might apply for a patent for apple pie cooked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes before someone else does.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search