Re: Discharge from the Delyed Entry Marine Corps Program
I (or any other competent lawyer) would have to actually read the paperwork signed by both you and your son, to give you a definitive answer. But, the first "rule of thumb" is never believe anything a Recruiter tells you that is NOT in writing.
In GENERAL - and I stress the "general" here - if your son was only 17 at the time of the DEP enlistment, a parent or guardian would also have to sign for him. If your son is still under the age of 18, you can revoke your consent. However, if your son is now 18, that becomes irrelevant.
Go back to the Recruiter's Office and speak to the Recruiter that signed up your son, and have your son tell them he wants "out of his DEP" and does NOT want to enlist. If this was all done "above board" they will prepare the paperwork to cancel the DEP enlistment.
Be prepared for them to give you the "song and dance" that he can go to college in the USMC, or that they'll pay for it, etc. If they won't cancel or rescind his DEP enlistment, get back to me.
There are alternatives to fight this if they say he's locked into this enlistment. Contact me privately as this forum is not private nor legally privileged.
Don Rehkopf
drehkopfjr@brennalaw.com