New York  |  Native American Law

question bubble
10/26/02, 3:08 pm

Legal Question


Can members of Tribal Police Forces have status of Federal Marshals at the same

My question refers to Tribal Police Forces. If a Tribal Police Force has deputization through the BIA, is it legal to have members gain Status as Federal Marshals at the same time? Is it legal for them to serve in both capacities, as Nation Police Officers and as Federal Marshals?

Do they not have to serve in either one or the other? And if yes, what law applies?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search