Re: 17 year old in Car Accident, back problems..
1) The appropriate way to deal with this situation is to let no fault pay for your medical bills. Just get the appropriate forms to submit bills. If your injury continually gets worse and it is a serious condition that prevents you from working for more than 90 days after the accident, or is a fracture, or something requiring surgery, get your doctor to explain the diagnosis to you, and then consult an attorney at that time. If you like I will be happy to follow up.
To answer some of your questions, there is a 3 year statute of limitations for personal injury but, 2) be aware that if the bus was owned by a municipality or school district there may be a requirement that a notice of claim be served within 90 days of the accident(just keep it in mind)since you should know by now, from the exchange of information. 3)Also, technically you are still a minor, which means the statute of limitations doesn't start to run until you are 18. 4)You say you received money from the insurance co? The insurance company for the other vehicle or your own? Did you sign a release for property damage only? Do not a general release. This absolves all future claims.
What county do you live in?
5) The No fault law is designed to provide for payment of medical bills regardless of fault, but it also will allow a court to dismiss a case that does not involve a "serious injury" as defined in the insurance law.This is also known as the no fault "threshold". It is intended to prevent soft tissue injuries such as sprains and strains from cluttering up the courts.
Problems frequently arise with the definition of "serious injury" in auto accident cases; for instance, herniated discs can be construed as soft tissue injuries, although they usually involve neurological problems, a great deal of pain, and a long recovery period. That is one of the reasons' that the statute requires a serious injury such as a herniated disc, to have kept someone away from his regual activities for a minimum of 90 out of the first 180 days after the accident.
Do not worry about trying to make out a case. If you have one, you have one. If not, you have a new car and your health, which is worth more then a phony case. If your injuries are more serious, you have time to find out, document it properly and see that it is handled by a professional.