New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/15/09, 9:26 pm

Legal Question


3 years ago my 20 yr old college student son was accused by another student of beating that student. Eye witnesses said it was another group of guys that did it but the very drunk other student accused him anyway. My son was charged with gang assault and larceny. Due to the fact that the accusers father was an Amhurst cop, my son's lawyer recommended he accept a lesser plea of 3rd degree assault and not risk losing a trial. We were told it would be difficult to get in the middle of the DA's relationship with the Amhurst police. So my son accepted the lesser charge, is now finishing up his 3rd year of probation, and got himself a fine job despite the misdemeanor on his record. We just received notice that the drunk guy is now suing my son for reimbursement of bodily injury expenses. What can we do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search