New York | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Climbing Gym Injury - Negligence
I fell from a wall in a climbing gym and landed half way off the edge of a safety pad and broke my ankle/leg. Becuase of the injury I will be out of work for 2 months.
I believe the reason for the accident is that the safety pads are inadeqate. I have heard other gym members and staff talk about the need for new mats for exactly this reason and they are supposed to be getting new mats ''soon''. I know that there have been several other injuries for the same reason although I don't know of any this serious.
I signed a waiver before climbing at the gym. I was under the belief that I was waiving my rights to sue because of the inherent risk of injury in climbing but I see that there is language about negligence in the waiver.
Do these waivers realy mean that I cannot take action against a gym for a known problem?


