New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
2/13/05, 11:30 pm

Legal Question


Protecting myself from dog bite victim

Four years ago my live-in girlfriend's daughter jumped off a couch onto my dog's back. My dog, who was sleeping, snapped at the little girl a put a small puncture in the childs cheek. The wound needed only 3 or so stitches to fix, and there is little, if any scar apparent today. The little girl has had a history of abusing animals (holding cats down and shoving her finger down thier throats, etc..). My dog, who has since died, had never had a problem with children, and had in fact been excellent around them.

Now over four years later, my ex-girlfriend is back with the girls father, I learn that her father may be suing me over this incident. What rights do I have?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search