New York | Personal Injury
Legal Question
how to prove what i knew or should have known
Three years and one week ago, a former tenant's dog bit a guest. He is not only suing me because i ''knew or should have known'' there was a dangerous dog. I didn't know they had a dog and there was a no-pet clause in the lease. Guest also nmaed my brother in the lawsuit, stating my brother acted as my agent for leasing and rent collections, which is untrue. How can he ''prove'' what i knew or didn't know. Why include my brother? Also, if i am given exactly 30 days to respond, and the statute of limitations is exactly 3 years, then how are they able to be so amiguous with the ''on or about march 27th...'' phrase? When does the ''on or about'' meld into exceding the statute of limitations? the dog bite was on or about March 27. The papers were filed a few days later. He sued my insurance company 3 years ago, and they denied his claim.
thank you for your insight.
--name removed--


