New York | Personal Injury
Legal Question
unathorized video recording
I have recently discovered video recordings of my boyfriend having sex with past partners, which appears to be hidden and without consent. He sets up the camera before the persons enter the room and turns it off as the exit. I do not have proof of any video of me. I would like to know New York State's law regarding this matter. I have not given any consent to be taped. I have stated I am will not consent to any video recording. We are both adults and engaged in sexual behavior only at his apartment. Am I allowed any right to privacy and need there be exposure of any possible taped to a third party for my right to be violated? Am I able to sue him in order to destroy any recording (hard drive or tape)? Do I have any leverage against him. He does not yet know I have discovered his secret. Is recording a sexual act without the consent of both parties a criminal act in the state and city of new york?


