New York | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Adeverse Possession?
I am not sure if this is what you call it but I have become aware of a property that has been abandoned in upstate ny. I went to the local municipal offices to see if the property had a bank lien and it did not. Being that it was a small town the town clerk told me that the owner had passed away and there were no relations. The taxes owed on the house are only 1 year overdue. I am interested in aquiring this property but the forclosure wont occur they tell me until 2003 because that's how long they wait until it becomes a forclosure issue since there is no bank lien. My question is can I pay the taxes on this property so that I can save this house before it becomes totally destroyed by the elements and ends up costing me more if I wait for an auction in 2003? Do I need to take this issue to court?Thank you for your time.


