New York | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Is the landlord obligated to re-rent the apartment asap after i break the lease
i rented an apartment for last one and a half years in long island, NY. Due to job change i had to move to VA in Dec 02, and had to break the 1 yr lease & as a penalty I had to loose my security deposit and also I am liable to pay the rent either till the apartment is re-rented or till the end of my lease (May 03). It's been 2 months now and whenever i call to check if it is re-rented, the mgmt people say that nobody has enquired about the apartment. So to cross check I sent my friends and made few calls to ask them if they have some apartments availble. first thing they say is that nothing available before 15th March 03 and second when one of my friend insisted to see all possible vacant apartments, they showed 2 other apartments but never showed my apartment which is vacant from mid dec. Also, my ex-neighbours told us that they have never seen anybody coming to even see the apartment. This means that the Mgmt people are intentionally not re-renting the apartment and are charging me for it.And as far as i know, the landlord is OBLIGATED to re-rent the apartment asap. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHETHER IT IS TRUE? Becasue if itis, then i will take action fast.kindly guide me what is the best action to be taken in this case.


