New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/19/03, 10:32 pm

Legal Question


My Lawyer trick me day of closing

Buying a house 250k, lawyer was recommended by real estate agent. Never met in his office always through the agent. The house was 10% down payment on the contract,then changed to 25% because it was commercial. (Keep in mind the Agent already new that and lawyer.)We were recommended to a Mortgage Broker through the RE Agent, that told us we will have the money day of closing through the refinance of our Coup.He contacted our Lawyer and assure him we had the money.A day before closing our Lawyer met with us at the RE Agents office to tell us to sign some papers piror to close.The next day went to close and found out that the refinance for our Coup didn't go through.Our Lawyer stated that since we were minorities with no money he will lend us the money of $60,000. And we put down $35,000.plus the mortgage of $170.000.That day we signed a lot of papers that we didn't understand.Later it turn out that our Lawyer has 2/3 of our house and we have 1/3. He stated he has a contract that we signed a day before closing that the house will be sold in the open market and he will get 2/3.Our Lawyer knew our house was selling under price at the value of $400.000.Now it's a year, and he wants to sell our house and not take his money.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search