Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

Real Estate Escrow

More than a year ago I sold my home and at the closing there was approx. $10k held in escrow to insure that I replace a cracked furnace. Less than 1 month later the furnace was replaced as per contract using $6K of my own money. The buyer has refused to release any of the escrow account citing problems that have nothing to due with the replacement of the furnace. My question is, Can I get out of escrow the personal money I have already spent and sue in small claims court for the rest? and how do I go about it?

Asked on 11/19/07, 12:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

richard feldman richard d. feldman
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Real Estate Escrow

it probably depends upon what the escrow agreement says.

The escrow agent should commence an action to have a judge decide how the escrow is disposed of

Read more
Answered on 11/19/07, 12:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now