Legal Question in Tax Law in New York

I am going to receive a settlement from a discrimination lawsuit (settled out of court) of $50,000.00. It states in the agreement that this amount is for pain and suffering. The lawsuit was for age and religious discrimination. My question is how much will I have to pay in taxes on this $50,000.00?

Thank you for your help.

Asked on 2/26/13, 2:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Walter LeVine Walter D. LeVine, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

In a discrimination case, the recovery is taxable. The legal fees, if any, are deductible.

Read more
2/26/13, 3:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now