New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/09/03, 1:05 am

Legal Question


access to a parent's will

My mother (86) is in the hospital seriously ill. I don't want to talk to her about her will. My stepfather has her will in his possession and claims that my sister and I can't see it because it is ''sealed.'' I am afraid the will does not represent my mother's wishes as she has expressed them to me orally. How can I get a copy?

It's my mother's wish that my sister, stepfather and I inherit equal 1/3 shares of her estate. To ensure that this wish is carried out and that my stepfather has not manipulated her into giving him a greater share of her estate, can I prepare a statement for my mother to sign in the hospital, witnessed by a layperson, stating her wishes with respect to her estate, and saying that it supercedes any prior will? Will such a statement be valid?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search