New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/07/07, 6:27 pm

Legal Question


Conditional inheritance

My father passed away in 1968. Our family had 80 acres in New York State which in my father's will was stated that ''was given, devise, and bequeathe''to my mother for the term of her natural life. Upon my mother's death the property would go to myself and 4 siblings. My mother is still alive and now lives in California. Is the property hers to sell today or does she only have conditional use of it? Is there any need for my mother to reference it in her will?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search