Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

My dad did not have a will and his estate is currently in surrogate court (warren county, NY). I am administrator of the estate. I have been renting out my dads home for several months, can I keep the rent without my siblings, probate atty., or surrogate courts knowing. My girlfriend is telling me that this is fraud/theft and the monies are apart of the estate. He also had no living trust or joint-tenancy.

Asked on 11/05/13, 6:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your girlfriend is correct. You need to account for the income and expenses of the estate and eventually make a distribution.

Read more
Answered on 11/05/13, 6:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now