New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Death bed request
On the death bed of a Grandfather, he willed verbally to his two sons that his Grandaughter was to receive half a settlement which he had claimed which hadn't yet been settled. The two sons both heard the wish and the grandaughter also. The Granddaughter performed all of the servies that were needed to get the process of the claim started (paper work) and was the only one who corresponded with the company who was acting as the claims agent. The Grandfather has passed recently the claims company decided on what the claim should be. The two sons found out how much the claim was going to be and the one son is trying to change the verbal will of the Grandfather. The other son is willing to testify that he had heard the wish of his father and feels that this is inoppropiate.Does the Grandaughter have any rights on the claim?


