New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
8/06/03, 9:45 am

Legal Question


Estate Disbursement Accountability

My father passed away in June 2002. My brother-in-law was the executor of his will. I just received a check from him and nothing else. There was no accountability of the disbursement of the estate. He has not replied to repeated phone messages and emails from myself and one of my three sisters. I need to deposit this check but feel that the funds were not disbursed properly. Also there was an appraisal done on my father's house which was deducted from estate. Am I entitled to a copy of this?

1) Does he have to provide the accounting for the estate?

2) How do I endorse the check? (Depsoited under protest?)

3) Am I entitled to the Appraisal on the house?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search