New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/23/04, 6:04 pm

Legal Question


Inheritance form estate of deceased

My wife and I are parties to a codicil from the will of an elderly husband and wife who had no children. It was signed,dated and notarized in the State of New York by both parties back in 1992.

The couple moved to Florida in 1992. The husband died a few years back which I knew because of continued contact with the wife. The codicil states that both had to be deceased before we would be paid the said amount of $15,000. I just got confirmation, including a death certificate from the State of Florida, that the wife's date of death was back on January 13,2003. We had been trying to make contact with the wife at her residence for some time with no success and it was because of that that I contacted the Office of Vital Statistics and confirmed our feelings. We assumed we would be notified by the executor upon her demise but that was not the case,which leaves me suspect.

What is the first step in pursuing the estate for the inheritance?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search