New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
1/07/05, 12:42 pm

Legal Question


Is an obituary legally required?

I have always lived a very private life, and on my death, I would like to continue this way. My sister wrote her own obituary, and I was thinking about doing the same, when a question surfaced in my mind. Is an obituary even required? Is there a law which states that one has to be published? Can you please direct me to where I can reference the relevant law? If, as I fear, an obituary is required, I would like to know the mininmum information it must include. Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search