New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
probate
my mom died 3 years ago. left a will. the will names her 3 children as reciepients to her estate (my father died before her leaving her everything.) The will has not been probated. my uncle is the named executor. when the will was produced I was 2 years old,my sister was just born,my brother 4 years old. Now I am 42 years old. my uncle wants to probate the estate. me and my siblings are currently in litigation with him (my uncle) over a contract. we believe he is trying to probate my moms will so he can be executor and somehow control her assests and use that to intimidate us. If my siblings and i all agree that it is not in our best interest to have him as executor can we block him from probating the will or atleast have one of us named executor? Do we need to have a lawyer to do this? we already have enough legal expenses as is please help.


