New York | Wills and Trusts
9/26/07, 9:41 pm
Legal Question
will contest
Can I contest a will without an attorney and how do i go about it?
will contest
Can I contest a will without an attorney and how do i go about it?
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Park |
Re: will contest Yes, you can contest a will without an attorney. How to go about it depends on your relationship to the decedent, and how far along the probate process is.
If you are considered next-of-kin under NY law, you will be notified of a Citation return date. You should personally appear at the Court on that date to raise your objections. If you are not a close relation of the decedent, or if the Court has already appointed the administrator, it's a lot more difficult to contest the will. |
|
Read More Answered By: Mark S. Moroknek |
Re: will contest It is very complicated and I would not advise it. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7778
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 952
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
► Change of will My husband and I prepared a will in 1987. We have been separated (not...
► Trying to find revised will My grandmother had a peice of land with mobile home on...
► Probate 2 years ago my father passed away and my mother never changed the deed to...
► Life use property my mother is in a nursing home. She is 91 years old and according...
► Trusts, wills and estates my mother died and my brother and sister are trustees and...
► Executor of my Father's will My Stepmother convinced my Father that one of her...
► Deaths 38year old just discovered who my biological father is in 2005. we...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press