North Carolina | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
If I get married to someone and we don't have any joint accounts, but were each planning on filing for BK, can we file a joint bankruptcy?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Zimmerman |
You can only file a joint bankruptcy if you are married. I do not know of any minimum time you have to be married to take advantage of the joint filing. Depending on what you assets are and where you file, you ought to consult a bankruptcy lawyer prior to getting married and prior to co-mingling assets. |
Top Attorneys in NC
Law Offices of John M. Kirby
Raleigh, NC
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Zimmerman Law Office
Southport,, NC
Questions Answered: 433
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Wallace Law Firm
High Point, NC
Questions Answered: 258
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Attorney-Mediator
Kernersville, NC
Questions Answered: 113
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Elliott Law Firm, PC
Huntersville, NC
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-25
Maxwell Law Firm, PLLC
Charlotte, NC
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-10
Law Office of Craig B. Lane
Charlotte, NC
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-08
Beaver & Green, P.A.
Clayton, NC
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-23
Pavilack and Associates, P.A.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-01-10
Search Questions and Answers


