North Carolina | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
The Constitutionality of the Federal 700B+ Financial Bailout
I think for the US Constitution to be worth anything, it needs to be understandable by the average citizen. From my reading of the constitution, the 700B+ Finance Bailout legislation passed into law by the US Congress is unconstitutional. It violates Constitutional Amendment 10: “The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.” Do you agree? If not, could you explain why?
This bailout enables the Federal Government to assume many powers reserved for the state and individual citizens. It violates the balance between the three government branches. It's fascism because the government will own significant portions of our financial institutions, and it's socialist because the Federal Government will own the mortgages on many homes in North Carolina.
I've written my federal representatives, and I can’t get a legislative person to discuss the constitutionality of the bill.


