Legal Question in Criminal Law in North Carolina

Rape

Hello, my name is--name removed---name removed-- I was raped when i was 17. I am 26 now. There was a physical assault near the border of NC/SC. The physical happened in SC then he drove right across the border to where the rape occured. He confessed and was only given a suspended snetence of 75 days for ''Assault on a female''. Now that Im older and I have learned that there is no statute of limitations in NC for sexaul assaults. I wanted to put it behind me during the time of trail. i had no knowledge of when it was let alone any transportation to it. I did recieve some form to fill out describing how it was affecting me. and I wanted to put it behind me. Im very disapointed with the results. I saw him while running one day and he stopped me. I didnt recognize him at first. He asked for directions and as i was giving him directions he gave me a look that triggered those thoughts fom so long ago. He confessed to my knowledge a day after it happened. 8/18/2000. I did attend his physical assault trial and spoke with the judge, but I was unaware of what his sentence was. Can he still be prsecuted for rape knowing there is no statute of limitations in NC or can he be sued?

Asked on 11/08/08, 2:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Johnston Law Offices of Robert J. Johnston
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Rape

You posted your question for a SC lawyer to answer an NC legal question. You need to ask a lawyer from NC.

Read more
Answered on 11/08/08, 2:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now