Legal Question in Family Law in North Carolina

in the state of north carolina can a 17 year old run away from home and not be forced to be put in juvi or move back home?

will the police come and lock the teen up or make them go back home?

other then being emancipated can a teen at 17 move out and be on there own, or live with someone else?

Asked on 9/23/13, 9:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A 17 year can only legally move out once they have sought and been granted emancipation. The 17 y/o will not be locked up but will have to go home if found.

Read more
9/23/13, 10:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now