North Carolina  |  Tax Law

question bubble
9/27/99, 1:56 pm

Legal Question


New free distribution paper tax law in NC effective 10/99

We need to know if there are any constitutional rights or laws governing taxing (just) free distributed news papers in the state and not all others. The new law goes into effect on Oct. 1,1999.

We heard about the new 4% state tax through the grapevine. The state has not informed us of the tax and today is Sept. 27, 1999. But the local government has heard about it in advance and added there own 2% tax to coincide.

We cannot afford this tax. We do not make money from the distribution of our paper. What can we do or where do I need to go to find information pertaining to this law?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search