Ohio | Technology Law
Legal Question
If I provide a link on my website to a "downloadable" file on a third party website, who is responsible if that file is something considered illegal? (ie: music files)
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
You can be responsible for contributory copyright infringement. The website that you linked to can be responsible for copyright infringement.
If we are talking about "illegal" material of another nature, for example child porn, you could be criminally and civilly liable for your participation therein.
There are too many contingencies to consider here. More info is needed. Please see an attorney in your area for help - one who is familiar with copyright, internet, and litigation. |
Top Attorneys in OH
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
Brandabur, Bowling & Crehan Co., L.P.A.
Hamilton, OH
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-25
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Pat Vitone, Attorney at Law
Kent, OH
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-20
Steven A. Hill, Attorney at Law
Reynoldsburg, OH
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-05-02
Wm. Bruce Davis, Attorney-at-Law
Cincinnati, OH
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-11-16
Thomas G. Besore Co., L.P.A.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-03-07
The Law Offices of CHRISTOPHER CONSTANTINE CARR, MBA, P.C.
Coatesville, PA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


