Ohio  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
7/18/00, 10:10 pm

Legal Question


Independent creation and copyright law

I came up with an idea for a fee-based website that would give students access to a database program and have already started working on it. However, I recently discovered that a software program, very similar-if not exact-, already exists. This software program is available on CD and does exactly what I was planning to have my website do. My question is: am I infringing copyright rights of those who created the software? Are there any other legal issues I should consider? Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search