Ohio | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
custody
I am 16 years old and my 22 year old older sister has custody of me. It's not a safe place for me. And my parents are not an option. What do i do? Preferably not a foster home.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Joseph J. Jacobs Jr. |
Re: custody First of all, you have to find someone who you could live with until you are 18....no way to get around that....
if it's not safe you can make a call to your local social agency....they will come and take you and temporarily put you in foster care... if you dont have some other relative in mind....
If you make a call to the social workers in your area, they would file a complaint in court to change your custody...when that happens there will soon be a court date, and at that time you could present your plan on where you want to live...
that process takes a month at least, so for that time you would be in foster care....
the trick here is that you need to know where you want to live before you start all this, since you are old enough to be listened to by the system....
foster homes are way better than a lock up facility or a group home....
the good thing about being in the custody of the government is that they will pay for your college all the way thru....
that seems to me to be the only way to make this a happy ending, since in less than 2 years you are going to be on your own....(scary if you dont have help!!)
good luck and feel free to ask more questions about this.... |
Top Attorneys in OH
The Jacobs Legal Group
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Edward DiCato Attorney at Law
Green, OH
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-03
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
Brandabur, Bowling & Crehan Co., L.P.A.
Hamilton, OH
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-25
Law Office of Frank X. Gresley, LLC
Parma, OH
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-14
Rosemarie A. Welch Co., L.P.A.
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 25
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-21
David P. Drew, Esq.
Akron, OH
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-10-18
Ducey & Riewaldt
Toledo, OH
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-05-19
Holzfaster,Cecil,McKnight & Mues, Attorneys
Dayton, OH
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-12-09
James H. Stempien, Jr.
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-24
Search Questions and Answers


