Oklahoma  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
7/27/03, 1:39 pm

Legal Question


What is FDCPA?

A Law Firm is suing me over a credit card I paid off almost 7 years ago. I think Providian, the credit card company has lied about my payment history/status. I was in on a law suit against Providian and now I am being sued by them. I can no longer prove I paid the debt because the bank is no longer in existance, they are now Bank of America and BoA has no history of me ever banking with the previous bank. I know the statute of limitations on a credit card or open ended account is 3 years in Oklahoma. I cannot find the Title and section (example: 12 O.S. section 95) for open ended account. Can you please help me with this? Also, in reading a previous question and answer you told the individual to use FDCPA to stop the collection actions. What is FDCPA?

Thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search