Oregon  |  Elder Law

question bubble
2/22/03, 11:48 pm

Legal Question


theft of my heritage

My mother passed away in September of 2000. I am her only living heir. In April of 2002, my step father died and since my mother had suffered a stroke a few years before, my step father's daughter stepped in a took over my mother's estate. At the time of his death, my mother indicated to me that upon her death, she would like everything split equally between the step sister and I. She'd sent hand-written wills in the passed and I'd kept them all. But in April, it was set up at Wells Fargo Bank, that she and I were the beneficiaries of the estate. That two signatures were required to withdraw the funds. Upon my mother's sudden death in September, 2000, I was called by the step sister. When I arrvied at my mother's home, the house had been stripped of all paperwork and important papers which I was showed in April of that year. I had no idea what her estate was comprised of, and the step sister hid everything, AND produced a new will written a weeks before her death. This will was nothing like my mother's wishes, and the signature was not my mothers. What can I do? There is more to this but I have no more room.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search