Oregon | Family Law
Legal Question
Child Visitation Rights of Grandparent
How do I get visitation rights to see my grandson born out of wedlock? I watched him at least three times a week since his birth but when my son and his girlfriend split up, she has refused to allow me to see him.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gilbert Feibleman |
Re: Child Visitation Rights of Grandparent The first question is whether your son ever had paternity established either by a court order or by both parties filing the affidavits at Vital statistics for a birth certificate. If paternity is established then you can bring a legal action to establish visitation rights if you can establish you have been denied reasonable visitation. The best way to prove it is to make sure every oral request is followed by a written one. Never be hostile or whiny. Another issue is whether your son is seeing the child and if so why can't you see the child on your sons time? It is important to properly strategize establishing your rights since you can only ask a court once. If paternity is not established then you have no legal standing until it is. You first must be a legal grandparent before you can seek those rights. There is also another statute but the reuqirements are different. That is something we would nee to discuss in person. |
Top Attorneys in OR
Law Offices of Lawrence Gorin
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 824
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Stephens Margolin, P.C.
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-07
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Proctor & Popia, LLC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-27
Case & Dusterhoff, LLP
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-22
David C. Clarke, Attorney at Law
Tualatin, OR
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Proctor Law, PC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Search Questions and Answers


