Oregon  |  Securities Law

question bubble
6/04/10, 2:10 pm

Legal Question


My wife and I just got a call from UBS bank/brokerage that they made a mistake over 3 years ago and over-deposited some stock into our account - it was part of a company Stock Participation Plan, so we regularly received stock of varying amounts and didn't notice any error.

So, they have notified us of the mistake - in the amount of ~$12K - and are now asking (rather rudely, considering it was their error) for us to repay the $12K. Problem is that the error was over 3 years ago. We paid (significant) taxes on the transaction, which I don't foresee the govt repaying to us.

Is there any statute of limitations here? If UBS contacted me 3 weeks, or 3 months later, I would send a check. But after 3+ years? After we've paid taxes on the transaction?

Many thanks for some guidance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search