Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
6/19/00, 1:56 pm

Legal Question


Engagement Ring -- Pledge or Gift

Greetings:

On 1/23/2000 my girl friend said "yes," to be married, and accepted an enagement ring.

In the coming months we set a wedding date in August of this year.

Recently, she ended the engagement.

I'm asking that the engagement ring be returned. She is stating it is a gift.

My understanding is that an enagement ring is a pledge to marry some one; and that it should be returned if that pledge is broken or otherwise made null and void.

What is the legal answer in the state of Pennsylvania?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search