Re: how much do I have to payI
You need to speak with an attorney, as there are too many questions to be asked and answered here, but here goes...
Assuming there is not a judgement (that would produce a lot of other comments)...
When was the bill incurred, 3 yrs ago? Did you do all you had to to get your insurance to pay?
#1, you are asking the wrong question... What would your insurance company have paid for IF the paperwork was properly processed?
If they would have paid the bill, then the question is why wasn't the bill paid? Often the hospital drops the ball and does not properly process the paperwork. Also, often the hospitals will bill $15,000, and the insurance company will pay $10,000, and balance bill the individual, which is illegal.
DO NOT PAY ANYTHING UNTIL YOU GET ANSWERS TO THESE QUESTIONS!!!
Good luck to you.
Kevin J. Begley, Esq.