Pennsylvania | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Would this case be considered an abuse of discretion?
I was arrested the other night and never read my rights. I didn't hear what I was being charged with until I was standing in front of the judge 3 hours later, the arresting officer was not present. Actually, one officer first pinned me to the ground while 4 or 5 other officers then helped drag me into the middle of the street to force me down and handcuff me.
I now have pictures that show it and also that I never had an open container, as I was holding onto a wagon with both hands that was rolling down a hill. I was charged with disorderly conduct, obstructing a highway, and having an open container.
I did not know how I was obstructing a highway that had already been blocked off by barricades and police cars. And I definitely did not have an open container when I was arrested.
I plead not guilty and was removed from the court room and placed in a cell and told that if I plead not guilty I would be in jail up to 3 days waiting for another trial.
I then plead guilty and was given a $300 fine for each charge and 100 hours of community service.


