Pennsylvania  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/18/07, 6:20 pm

Legal Question


Keeping a House in Another StateThrough Bankruptcy

We live in South Carolina & was given family home in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 2003 for $1 to keep father-in-law's medicare, medicaid, & home nursing. It's assessed at $46,000 tho not devalued but all others there were as we've been out of state & not having money for an attorney. Buyers only want to pay $17,000 furnished being a vastly depressed area from steel mills leaving in the 1980's & never recovering area. Those homes were foreclosed,refinanced, or rented out as people left. We're 57 & 59 with health problems & BELOW the 200% federal poverty level. The last 4 yrs. we've used credit cards to exist believing husband's job situation in SC would vastly improve. He may be blackballed from an employer. His $10 hr. cook's job.Our debt is $60,000.Income $22,000 gross.My SS disability $162.SSI went down to $8 this month from $179! I've no food stamps. We've 1 dependent at home.The welfare agency throws road blocks 2 1/2 yrs. still no housing voucher for our apt rent $649 + water.No one knows here that we have that house in PA. we go to 7 days once a year. Dad just died.Credit cards are not connected to the house.Will we lose my in-laws gift home 2003 to our creditors?Will I lose my benefits if the gov. finds out we have that house?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search